buy tramadol online

Sign Up Now

Join the Autism Community!

Forgot Your Password?

A new password will be created
and sent to your e-mail address.

Friday 19 Jan 2018

A Parent’s Guide to Common Core State Standards


Article by Stephanie Ekis, MS, CCC-SLP

Last summer the federal government moved away from the educational standards provided in No Child Left Behind into a new set of standards called Common Core State Standards (CCSS).  The CCSS allows schools across the country to provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn during grades K to 12.  This was developed so that teachers and parents know what they need to do to help children succeed and learn.

The standards focus on language arts and mathematics and were developed in collaboration with a variety of stakeholders, including content experts, states, teachers, school administrators, and parents, establishing clear and consistent goals for learning that will prepare children for success in college and work.  The CCSS will be the same across the grade levels for special needs students as it is for the general education classrooms.  The goal is to hold all students to high expectations of learning gains based on college and career readiness.  However, for special needs students there are specific adaptations, accommodations, and assistive technology provided for students to be able to attain those high standards. 

Most states have accepted CCSS.  To find out if your state is included, go to the link below and click on “State Adoption” and then click on your state. 

 Use the resources below to learn more about CCSS.

Common Core Standards: What Special Educators Need to Know, Council for Exceptional Children

 Common Core State Standard Webinar

 State-specific Academic Standards Search

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.